Clicky

How to Make Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce

gluten free hoisin sauce
  • Craving for this tasty Hoisin Asian sauce and wondering if it is gluten-free?
  • Do you need some gluten-free homemade hoisin sauce recipe?

Well, you’re in the right place because we will be taking you through the steps of making your own homemade gluten-free hoisin sauce using some easy home ingredients.

Some of these hoisin homemade sauce ingredients include gluten-free soy sauce, Stir Fry Sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, miso or fermented black bean paste, and more.

Yes, making your own traditional hoisin dipping sauce is healthier than buying from your local store since you control whatever goes into this thick sauce.

Is Hoisin Sauce Gluten Free?

Most hoisin sauce in our local stores frequently includes soy sauce and wheat flour as a thickener.

As a result, those who have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity should avoid using store-bought hoisin sauce.

However, the traditional Hoisin and classic Chinese sauce, full of flavorful sweet and savory aromas, are considered gluten-free.

This Chinese hot sauce is used to make the best crispy, aromatic duck and is excellent for seasoning ribs and several other traditional and modern dishes.

To be safe, make your hoisin sauce at home and enjoy.

Why You Should Make Your Own Gluten-Free Hoisin Homemade Sauce

gluten free sauce

It was challenging to find a gluten-free hoisin sauce at any grocery store around me, and that was the moment I realized how incredibly easy it was for me to make this fantastic gluten-free Chinese cooking sauce at home.

Yet, it is cheaper, healthier, and easy to make.

In addition, I don’t have to worry about the hidden ingredients (e.g., oyster sauce, modified corn starch, or other additives) used or the risk of cross-contamination.

So, I decided to make it myself using a short list of delicious ingredients I already had at home.

Making your gluten-free Hoisin Sauce recipe

Let me take you through how to make this lovely traditional hoisin sauce using this simple recipe.

It is just one of the many Asian recipes out there, but trust me, the result is Yummy!

Ingredients

  • Fresh honey
  • Green onion
  • Gluten-free Soy Sauce (Tamari)
  • Miso paste (Fermented soybean paste is used to make traditional hoisin sauce. However, that is not very common outside of Asia, so I substitute it for miso paste).
  • peanut butter
  • sesame oil
  • Garlic puree or powder
  • Date syrup
  • rice vinegar
  • For spices, depending on how hot you want it, you can combine cinnamon, fennel seeds, cloves, and ginger or simply use a gluten-free Chili paste.

How I Make my Homemade Hoisin sauce

my home made hosin sauce

  • I add all ingredients to a cooking pot.
  • Over medium heat, I bring the mixture to a boil.
  • Once boiling, I reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 2 to 4 minutes, occasionally stirring, until the sauce thickens slightly.
  • I allow it to cool down to room temperature before storing it in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Then I Enjoy!

For complete instructions and all the ingredients quantities, kindly refer to the recipe card at the bottom of this article.

What is hoisin sauce?

what is hoisin sauce

Hoisin sauce has a thick, almost syrup-like consistency and a dark color.

The glazes are frequently used as stir-fry sauces and dips for cooking meat.

Hoisin is a thicker sauce with a more robust soy flavor that is saltier and sweeter than regular soy sauce and is considered standard Chinese sauce.

It can be challenging to spot this fermented bean paste in our neighborhood supermarkets.

Hoisin sauce cuisine is a fantastic flavor enhancer for many Asian-inspired dishes.

For instance, they mix it into noodles, braised Chinese dishes, spring roll dipping sauce, and more.

Hoisin Sauce Gluten Free Brands

Hoisin Sauce Gluten Free Brands.jpg

You may occasionally feel genuinely unmotivated to prepare a small amount of hoisin sauce at home and opt to buy one already made.

Then you can look at the list of gluten-free hoisin sauces I’ve put together below.

P.S. Always consider the possibility of cross-contamination even though this sauce does not contain gluten.

  • Lee Kum Kee Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce
  • San-J Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce
  • Kikkoman Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce
  • Sun Luck Traditional Gluten Free Sauce
  • Gluten Free Wok Mei Hoisin Sauce
  • Coconut Secret Hoisin Sauce- Soy-Free
  • Premier Japan Organic Gluten Free Sauce

Always remember to look for the most recent information on the product label.

Conclusion

As those with celiac disease, we are highly cautious about what we put in our mouths, so we should make our meals at home to be safe.

So true! Nothing beats making your meals at home, even sauces, because you can completely control what goes inside in this way.

However, if circumstances require you to purchase or eat out, always remember to check the ingredient list to make sure it is safe for you to consume.

Hoisin Sauce

Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce

Hoisin is a thicker sauce with a more robust soy flavor that is saltier and sweeter than regular soy sauce and is considered standard Chinese sauce. This sauce is a fantastic flavor enhancer for many dishes.
Prep Time 4 mins
Cook Time 4 mins
Total Time 8 mins
Cuisine Chinese
Servings 1 Cup
Calories 50 kcal

Ingredients
  

  • 8 tbsp Gluten-free Soy Sauce (Tamari)
  • 1 tbsp Miso paste
  • 5 tbsp peanut butter
  • 3-4 tsp sesame oil
  • 2-3 tbsp Fresh honey
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 3 tbsp Date syrup
  • 4 tsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Each spices - combine cinnamon, fennel seeds, cloves, and ginger

Instructions
 

  • Add all ingredients to a cooking pot.
  • Over medium heat, I bring the mixture to a boil.
  • Once boiling, reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 2 to 4 minutes, repeatedly stirring, until the sauce thickens slightly.
  • Allow it to cool down to room temperature before storing it in an airtight container in the refrigerator.
Keyword Gluten Free Hoisin Sauce

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Is there a gluten-free hoisin sauce?

Soy sauce and wheat flour are frequently used as thickeners in most hoisin sauces in our local stores. However, the traditional Hoisin sauce, flavored with sweet and savory aromas, is thought to be gluten-free.

Does gluten-free hoisin taste different?

Since you wouldn't want to use gluten-containing ingredients to achieve the same flavor, the homemade gluten-free sauce might have a slightly different flavor and taste than store-bought hoisin. It still tastes incredibly delicious, which is the best part of it all.

What is hoisin sauce made of?

Fermented black bean paste is used to make the traditional hoisin. However, that is rare outside of Asia, so most people use miso paste instead and the chinese five spice powder. Other ingredients include peanut butter, sesame oil, Garlic Powder, Date syrup, and rice vinegar.