Gluten Free Chili -What You Need to Know

is chili gluten free

I know you love chili, and here you are to find out if chili is gluten-free so you can maintain your free gluten diet.

Worry less! Because I, too, love chili.

Yes, it’s one of my favorite meals to serve many people at my place.

Not just you and I; many other people enjoy eating chili or serving it with baked potatoes.

The fact that nothing warms you up like a big bowl of chili on a chilly day is a big deal.

Like me, you probably adhere to a gluten-free diet, so you know that chili requires the same level of scrutiny as every other dish.

Knowing whether chili is suitable for a gluten-free diet before the spoon even touches your mouth is crucial whether you prefer to make your own, buy it at a fast-food restaurant or keep canned chili in your pantry.

Sincerely, it would help if you never relied solely on restaurant or canned chili because barley is a widely used ingredient in chili and some cooks use flour as a thickener.

That is why people frequently ask me if there is gluten-free chili or is chili free of gluten and what is the best gluten-free chili recipe.

Because of this, we’ll explore what chili is, what its main components are, and whether we can anticipate that this food will always be suitable for a gluten-free diet.

We’ll also discuss canned chili from the grocery store, homemade chili, and even fast-food restaurant chili. Let’s dive in!

Is Chili Gluten-Free?

Numerous brands of chili claim to be gluten-free, but we know that these products have not been gluten-tested or may contain traces of gluten without a gluten-free label.

A fast-food restaurant’s chili, on the other hand, might or might not be gluten-free.

As an illustration, some restaurants serve gluten-free chili, but there is still a chance of cross-contamination.

To be prepared and know what is in your food is a smart option.

Always research the food chain or restaurant you intend to order chili from in advance and check the labels on ingredients like turkey sausage and chicken stock to ensure your choice is gluten-free.

So, chili is not gluten-free if you use gluten-containing ingredients in a recipe, buy canned chili, or order chili from a restaurant serving gluten-containing foods.

The fact is that, particularly when purchasing chili from a store or restaurant, you should assume it contains gluten until you can prove otherwise.

Gluten-Free Chili

Homemade chili is your best bet if you want to enjoy a healthy and gluten-free chili.

Since most of the ingredients required in many chili recipes are naturally gluten-free, making gluten-free chili at home is simple.

The chili won’t be gluten-free, though, if the ingredients you use do contain gluten.

On the other hand, if you use gluten-free ingredients, the chili will also be gluten-free.

It’s so simple to make gluten-free chili seasoning, and I bet you already have all the ingredients at home.

One of my favorite methods is a combination of beef, beans, tomatoes, and spices because they are the best for creating a tasty gluten-free chili.

Here is an easy chili recipe to make at home; you can call it the slow cooker chili recipe.

All you need is the following ingredients:

  • Ground beef (gluten-free beef chili) or Ground turkey (gluten-free turkey chili)
  • Diced organic onion
  • Crushed Tomatoes
  • chili powder
  • Tomatoes paste
  • Salt
  • Gluten-free chili seasoning-
  • Cumin
  • Oregano
  • Paprika
  • canned beans or kidney beans
  • Chicken Stock


  • The meat should be broken up into smaller crumbles using a wooden.
  • Add the peppers and chopped onions and cook till softened.
  • Add the chili powder, ground cumin, oregano, paprika, tomato paste, salt, and chili pepper, then cook for 2-5 minutes.
  • Next, add the diced tomatoes, chili beans, stock, and remaining ingredients before stirring.
  • The chili should slowly boil.
  • Turn down the heat to medium-low, avoid medium-high heat, stirring sporadically.
  • With the lid off, cook for 15-20 minutes.
  • Before serving, let the chili cool for some minutes to get a thicker chili.

How to Store

Refrigerate leftovers in an airtight container.

This chili can last up to 4 days or more when kept in the fridge.

But if frozen, chili can last up to 6 months.

To freeze, allow the chili to cool completely to room temperature before putting it in a freezer-safe container.

Chili protein sources

Although you can use many different protein sources to make chili, ground beef and beans are the most popular.

Protein sources for chili can also include bacon, chicken, and pork.

Chili Brands without gluten

Numerous brands of chili claim to be gluten-free, but we know that these products haven’t been gluten-tested or may contain traces of gluten.

That is why I’ve gathered a list of chili options you can purchase at the store that have both a gluten-free label and no gluten-containing ingredients.

Wolf Brand Chili

  • Wolf Brand Chili with Beans
  • Wolf Brand Mild Chili with Beans
  • Wolf Brand Angus Chili with Beans
  • Wolf Brand Angus Chili with No Beans
  • Wolf Brand Chili with No Beans
  • Wolf Brand Turkey Chili with Beans
  • Wolf Brand Turkey Chili with No Beans

Stagg Chili

  • Stagg Country Brand Chili with Beans
  • Stagg Dynamite Hot Chili with Beans
  • Stagg Chili Silverado Beef with Beans
  • Stagg Classic Chili with Beans
  • Stagg Laredo Chili with Beans
  • Stagg Turkey Ranchero Chili with Beans
  • Stagg Vegetarian Garden 4-Bean Chili
  • Stagg Silverado Beef Chili with Beans
  • Stagg Classic Chili No Beans

Bush Chili

  • Bush’s Heat Chili Magic
  • Bush’s Chili Magic Campfire Style
  • Bush’s Best Magic Canned Chili

Amy’s Kitchen

  • Amy’s Organic Black Bean Chili
  • Amy’s Organic Medium Chili
  • Amy’s Organic Spicy Chili
  • Amy’s Organic Medium Chili, Light in Sodium
  • Amy’s Organic Spicy Chili, Light in Sodium
  • Amy’s Organic Chili with Vegetables

Gluten-Free Chili Powder

Chili powder is a spice mixture made from ground dried chiles and other ingredients.

Ancho, Cascabel, and New Mexico chiles are examples of common chiles.

Typically, these are mixed with seasonings like paprika, oregano, and cumin.

The flavors of different blends differ. As a result, the quality of homemade powder far exceeds that of commercial products.

The flavoring and heat are under your control.

My favorite mix is a combination of paprika, cumin, dried ground red chilies, garlic powder, and salt.

It’s gluten-free to use chili powder. For those with gluten-related disorders, this powder is safe.

Choosing a Canned Chili

Not all canned chilies are gluten-free.

Some brands use wheat protein or wheat flour as a thickener.

It’s crucial to look through ingredient lists and look for a gluten-free label.

What You Should Know

Originally from Mexico, chili is a kind of stew that has gained enormous popularity throughout the US, particularly in many southern states like California.

Chili is generally seen as a slow-cooked, flavorful stew, but the actual ingredients can vary significantly.

While there are no predefined recipes for this dish, the primary consideration when making chili is that it ought to be rich, thick, and filling.

The most typical chili is made with ground beef, beans, and a tomato sauce base.

Onions, bell peppers, olive oil, and chili powder can be added as additional ingredients.

In addition, people occasionally develop their own unique recipes to personalize their chili and add more veggies or new ingredients.

Always remember that making your chili is simpler than most people realize, costs less than buying it, and can be tailored to your preferences.

Gluten-Free Toppings for Chili

Here are some of my favorite chili toppings:

  • Sour Cream
  • Salsa
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Jalapenos
  • Green Onion
  • Chopped Tomatoes
  • Sliced Olives
  • Chips.


Thanks to the simple recipe, you can make the best gluten-free, dairy-free chili at home.

Choose to go for homemade chili made with unique gluten-free ingredients if you have celiac disease or a gluten allergy because you can control what goes inside.