Do you enjoy having granola with your yogurt?
Do you like having it for breakfast, accompanied by some dairy-free milk?
And now you’re wondering whether this delectable breakfast and snack meal is indeed gluten-free.
If so, let’s find out if granola is safe for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
Here's What's In Store For You...
Is Granola Gluten Free and Safe for Celiacs?
The answer is no; granola occasionally contains gluten.
That is why you need to look for granola that has been certified as being gluten-free. Knowing that granola is made from a mixture of rolling oats, nuts, honey, or other sweeteners like brown sugar and occasionally puffed rice, one might not be sure of the manufacturing process or whether there was no cross-contamination.
Although Oats are naturally gluten-free, it is sometimes not because most farmers use the same machinery to process their oats as their wheat and barley, which might result in cross-contamination. So, exercise caution while selecting the granola you purchase.
Another reason it’s crucial always to read the ingredient label is that some granola bars may contain wheat flour or wheat germ, whether as a binder or for additional health benefits.
How To Know a Gluten-Free Granola
As we all know, granola is a fantastic source of protein and fiber with a wide range of health advantages. But how do we choose a gluten-free granola?
Well, the best way is to check the label to make sure it says “gluten-free” or examine the ingredient list to see whether it contains any seeds, flakes, nuts, dried fruit, sweetness, or flavors that include gluten.
For oat products, such as granola and granola bars, gluten-free certification is crucial because the possibility of oats containing gluten is considerable since they are primarily processed in the same facility as wheat and can be easily contaminated. So, follow these guidelines and eat safely.
Some Gluten-Free Granola Top Pick Brands
Although many granola brands include gluten, many more don’t.
To help you find your ideal gluten-free granola choice, we’ve listed seven of the best gluten-free granola brands below.
1) Erin Baker’s Granola
- Erin Baker’s Fruit & Nut Granola
- Erin Baker’s Coconut Chia Granola
- Erin Baker’s Peanut Butter Granola
- Erin Baker’s Oatmeal Raisin Granola
- Erin Baker’s Double Chocolate Granola
- Erin Baker’s Endurance Crunch Granola
- Erin Baker’s Honey Oat Clusters Granola
- Erin Baker’s Pumpkin and Flax Seed Granola
- Erin Baker’s Vanilla Almond Quinoa Granola
- Erin Baker’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Granola
- Erin Baker’s Chocolate Coconut Crunch Granola
2) Bear Naked gluten-free Granola
- Bear Naked Grain-free, almond coconut granola
- Bear Naked Maple Cinnamon Grain-Free Granola
- Bear Naked Toasted Coconut Almond Fit Granola
- Bear Naked Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Butter Granola
- Bear Naked Dark Chocolate Almond Grain Free Granola
- Bear Naked Cacao and Cashew Butter Soft Baked Granola
- Bear Naked Oatmeal Cookies Chunk Organic Protein Granola
- Bear Naked Peanut Butter Toffee Crunchy Organic Protein Granola
3) Jessica’s Natural Granola
- Jessica’s Vanilla Maple Granola
- Jessica’s Pecan Almond Granola
- Jessica’s Chocolate Chip Granola
- Jessica’s Almond Cherry Granola
- Jessica’s Cherry and Berry Granola
- Jessica’s Chocolate Hazelnut Granola
4) Nature’s Path Granolas
- Nature’s Path Honey Almond Granola
- Nature’s Path Summer Berries Granola
- Nature’s Path Almond Cranberry Granola
- Nature’s Path Coconut & Cashew Butter Granola
- Nature’s Path Caramel Pecan Grain-Free Granola
- Nature’s Path Smoothie Bowl Superfood Granola
- Nature’s Path Golden Turmeric Superfood Granola
- Nature’s Path Vanilla Poppy Seed Grain Free Granola
5) Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Granola
- Bob’s Red Gluten-free Honey Oat Granola
- Bob’s Red Coconut Spice Homestyle Granola
- Bob’s Red Maple Sea Salt Homestyle Granola
- Bob’s Red Gluten-free Apple Blueberry Granola
- Bob’s Red Lemon Blueberry Homestyle Granola
- Bob’s Red Cranberry Almond Homestyle Granola
6) Go Raw Granola
With organic chocolate, cocoa powder, and sprouted seeds, this Go Raw Sprouted Organic Granola Coco Crunch is gluten-free and delicious.
7) Purely Elizabeth Granola
Coconut oil, seeds, cashew butter, vanilla essence, and coconut flakes are the main ingredients in this gluten-free Purely Elizabeth Coconut Cashew Grain-Free Granola.
So, you can pick from any of these products and enjoy them.
Granola’s versatility is what makes it so fantastic.
There are currently many widely available choices in just about any taste, such as maple, peanut butter, and chocolate granola, just as you have seen above in our local stores.
Also, with gluten-free oats, making your granola at home is simple.
In fact, since you are in control of what ingredient to use, homemade granola is even more unique than ones purchased from a store.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Is granola OK for celiac?
Some granolas might not be safe for celiacs because of the main ingredient, Oats. Although Oats are naturally gluten-free, most farmers use the same machinery to process their oats as their wheat and barley, which might result in cross-contamination. So, exercise caution while selecting the granola you purchase, and the best way is to check the label to make sure it says "gluten-free" or study the ingredient list to ensure it contains no gluten ingredient.
Does granola contain flour?
Some granola bars may contain wheat flour or wheat germ, whether as a binder or for additional health benefits and as we all know, wheat flour is the most common gluten-containing grain. But on the other hand, most granola has no wheat flour and is gluten-free.