Does Miso Have Gluten or Is Gluten Free?

is miso gluten free.jpg

Miso is a Japanese seasoning or fermented paste made with fermented soybeans (naturally gluten-free) with salt and koji (made using mold and grain such as rice).

Some other gluten-free beans used in making miso include chickpeas and adzuki beans, while other gluten-containing grains used are barley or rye.

Is Miso Paste Gluten-Free?

miso paste.jpg

Miso paste is gluten-free if made without gluten-containing grains and is prepared in a safe, gluten-free environment, like most foods that don’t contain flour.

Since they can make miso with Barley, whole wheat, brown rice, chili peppers, hemp seeds, buckwheat, millet, and so forth, you can only call it gluten-free when they use gluten-free ingredients.

When they use fermented rice and any bean to make miso paste, then it is gluten-free.

Additionally, making it at home is surprisingly easy!

For this reason, I’ll leave you with this simple white miso recipe so you can make your miso in the comfort of your home.


  • 1.3 kg Dry Organic soybeans
  • 1.3 kg Organic Rice koji (Rice Koji is rice steamed and inoculated with the Aspergillus Oryzae fermentation culture.)
  • 14 TB Sea Salt (NO iodine)
  • Water


Step 1

Wash soybeans, Soak soybeans for 18 -24 hours.

Step 2

Soybeans should be drained and rinsed once more.

Toss the soybeans in a big pot or a pressure cooker.

Bring to a boil and simmer; soybeans should be soft and easy to mush.

Step 3

You should now combine rice koji and salt.

With clean hands, gently knead the salt into the rice, then set it aside.

making miso.jpg

Step 4

Once they are soft enough to handle, take the chickpeas out of the cooking liquid and roughly mash them using your preferred method.

Step 5

Now Combine soybeans, salt, and koji.

The mashed soybeans must be warm or at room temperature when combined with the koji and salt mixture.

To ensure even fermentation, distribute the koji well during the kneading process.

Step 6

Pack the soybeans tightly in a jar to eliminate any air pockets by firmly pressing each ball of the mixture.

By doing this, you will prevent mold growth.

Step 7

For three to six months, you should keep miso at room temperature between 68-70 degrees Fahrenheit.

Are Miso Paste Brands Gluten-Free

miso brands.jpg

As I mentioned, a miso paste brand’s gluten-free status depends significantly on the fermentation procedure and the ingredients used.

The koji starter base, for instance, will not be gluten-free if the company uses barley or wheat as the base.

However, if the company uses rice, the product is more likely to be gluten-free.

Additionally, if you buy pre-made miso soup, be aware that it frequently contains soy sauce that has wheat.

The popular Miso master, Gen Mi Brown Rice Miso, and Shiro Miso from Eden Foods are few examples of affordable, accessible gluten-free miso.

Japanese Miso – What You Should Know


Miso is a fermented concoction of soybeans, grains, and salt that is traditional in Japanese cooking, which is only one of the many miso Japanese recipes.

They initially made it to help keep food from spoiling during the warmer months when refrigeration was less common.

What Is Miso Like?

This fermented miso paste or powder is dissolved in hot water for soups (miso soup), added to salad dressings and marinades for a richer, savory flavor, and for making chocolate chip cookies and other cooking applications.

Miso generally has a salty, mildly sweet, and umami flavor, though the taste can vary depending on the variety and ingredients.

When the soybeans get dissolved during fermentation, a natural glutamic acid is produced, giving the umami taste to the paste.

While the amylase breaks down the rice in koji, which is where the sweetness comes from.

Miso becomes tastier and more flavorful as it ages, and its perceived saltiness also decreases.

Miso, the fermented Japanese food, offers a wealth of health advantages.

It is known for its many excellent health benefits and is considered one of Japan’s superfoods.

It contains many vital minerals and is a good source of folic acid, several B vitamins, and vitamins E and K.

Making your own homemade gluten-free miso paste is safer since most so-called already made gluten-free miso pastes or powders may contain gluten grains.

As those with celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or other food allergies, we must be cautious about what goes into our mouths.

On the other hand, we still want to enjoy most of these tasty foods while maintaining our gluten-free diet.


It’s enjoyable and simple to make your miso at home.

It only needs a few simple ingredients and patience because maturation takes about six months.

Nevertheless, the time and effort were utterly worthwhile because you control what goes inside.