Clicky

Are All Popcorn Brands Gluten-Free? Let’s Find Out

is popcorn gluten free.jpg
Last updated:

You would like to watch a movie or play a game while enjoying a bowl of delightful popcorn by the side.

But then you’ve paused for a moment, wondering if this popcorn is gluten-free and whether you should eat it.

Well, Corn kernels, which are used to make popcorn, are naturally gluten-free.

Yes, both regular air-popped kernels and unprocessed corn are free of gluten.

In fact, most people who cannot tolerate gluten can safely consume corn, and it is frequently suggested as a safe substitute for wheat for those with celiac disease.

Considering that all popcorns are made of heated corn kernels, it is reasonable to assume that popcorn is gluten-free.

On the other hand, gluten risk problem only occurs when flavorings or toppings are added as some flavors or additives may contain gluten.

There is also a possibility of cross-contamination when they produce popcorn in facilities with gluten-containing foods.

Let’s get more specific and examine why anyone with gluten sensitivity or intolerance should exercise caution when consuming popcorn.

We’ll talk about some gluten-free popcorn brands labeled gluten-free and how making your own gluten-free popcorn will help you maintain that gluten-free diet.

Most Popcorn is Gluten-Free

As you are already aware, gluten is a protein in some grains, such as wheat, barley, and rye.

Since corn is a grain that is free of gluten, plain popcorn is also gluten-free.

Because of this, those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity can eat it without getting sick.

Nevertheless, some people might also be hypersensitive to corn proteins.

What is popcorn and Is popcorn nutritious?

popcorn.jpg

Popcorn is considered a whole grain “maize” food made Only with corn kernels from popcorn cobs as opposed to other types of corn.

Once they reach full maturity, popcorn kernels are removed from the cob.

These kernels pop when heated and become fluffy and light in texture.

Popcorn’s main nutritional benefit is that it is a whole grain.

And popcorn being whole grain indicates that they are a good source of dietary fiber, protein, vitamins, and minerals.

When consumed in moderation, popcorn is regarded as a reasonably good snack option compared to other snack foods because it contains more fiber than other snacks like potato chips.

Due to its high fiber content, popcorn is also more filling and nutritious.

It does not contain cholesterol and is also low in fat and sugar.

Does Popcorn Have Gluten-Free Brands

Before purchasing any popcorn from your local stores, you should be aware of a few things.

While popcorn kernels by themselves are gluten-free, not all commercial popcorn is suitable for people with celiac disease.

The processing and potential for cross-contamination with gluten ingredients such as wheat starch, BBQ, or buffalo flavoring are the issues, not the corn itself.

So, selecting popcorn without flavorings or additives is a good idea if you buy commercial popcorn.

Yes, choose a product that only says “popcorn” on the ingredient list or that only has corn kernels and salt in it.

On the other hand, when buying flavored popcorn, it’s also a good idea to choose from certified gluten-free ones.

Again, it is safe because these popcorn products are certified by a gluten-free certification organization and labeled as gluten-free.

A product is considered gluten-free by the Food and Drug Administration if it contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

Which brands of popcorn are gluten-free? Continue reading to find out.

Some Popcorn Gluten-Free Brands

Thankfully, there are many gluten-free options, including microwaveable popcorn and plain corn kernels.

So below, we’ve compiled a list of the top gluten-free popcorn brands for your convenience:

1) Bob’s Red Mill Popcorn

Popcorn kernels in white and yellow varieties are available from Bob’s Red Mill, a well-known producer of gluten-free products.

Bob’s Red Mill claims to batch test all products in a controlled laboratory and built a separate facility to prepare gluten-free products to safeguard consumers from unintentional cross-contamination.

2) Act II

Act II, a well-known microwave popcorn producer, has ten flavors: butter, Xtreme butter, movie theater butter, kettle corn, and more.

Act II, a part of the grocery giant ConAgra Brands, claims that all of its microwave popcorn flavors contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

3) Jiffy Pop

The jiffy pop brand corn is popped in a wire-handled, sealed heavy-gauge aluminum pan with a seal, and the top of the pan rises as the kernels pop.

It is Ideal for popping over a campfire or a stove at home. Jiffy Pop is also an Act II and ConAgra brand.

4) BoomChickaPop

The BoomChickaPop is another gluten-free brand of ready-to-eat popcorn offered by Angie’s, a ConAgra subsidiary.

It is sold in bags with various sweet and savory flavors, including cheddar cheese, real butter, sweet ‘n salty kettle corn, and white cheddar Light Kettle Corn and Sea Salt.

5) Great Northern Popcorn Company

Both consumers and concessionaires at fairs and movie theaters can purchase popcorn-flavored or non-flavored varieties from Great Northern.

The Great Northern Popcorn Company is known for producing high-quality products.

6) SkinnyPop Popcorn

This company offers ready-to-eat popcorn in several flavors, including original, sea salt and pepper, white cheddar, and jalapeno, as well as seasonal and specialty varieties like Twist of Lime and Sweet Vanilla Kettle.

Additionally, they offer microwaveable popcorn and popcorn cakes.

The SkinnyPop’s primary microwavable popcorn flavors start from 25 calories per cup.

7) Skinnygirl Popcorn

In two flavors, lime with salt and butter with sea salt, Skinnygirl popcorn is a low-calorie brand of popcorn for those who are watching their caloric intake.

Products from Skinnygirl Popcorn are made by Orville Redenbacher and contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

8) Arrowhead Mills

Arrowhead Mills makes numerous varieties of gluten-free, organic grain products and mixes.

Its white and yellow popping kernels contain an excellent source of fiber, thiamin, and phosphorus and are gluten-free by certification.

However, remember that the product’s label contains the most accurate information, so read all warnings and instructions before using or consuming a product.

9) Orville Redenbacher’s

This well-known popcorn company claims it uses real butter other than the buttery flavoring used by other companies.

There are numerous low-calorie microwavable popcorn, canned, and ready-to-eat flavors options for Orville Redenbacher’s popcorn.

Make your own gluten-free popcorn

make your own gluten free popcorn.jpg

Popcorn kernels in their raw state and a heat source are all you need.

Use a microwave, pan, and stovetop to make popcorn if you don’t have an air popper designed for that purpose.

Method 1

Air popper

The fact that it is quick, simple, and doesn’t require supervising makes my air popper my favorite.

Put the popcorn kernels in the hot air enclosure, then turn on the machine.

Use the number of kernels that your air popper recommends.

Popcorn will rise to the top and fall into a bowl positioned below the air popper spout as it pops.

Method 2

Cooking over Stove

Two or three popcorn kernels are heated in a dry, heavy-bottomed saucepan with a lid over medium-high heat.

After the popcorn kernels have popped, remove them from the pan and replace them with 12 cups of popcorn kernels, 2-3 tablespoons of oil, and a lid.

Keep shaking and moving the pan while it’s still hot until the popcorn popping slows down to at least 2-3 seconds between pops.

Allow cooling slightly before adding your salt and melted butter or other gluten-free seasonings and flavors.

Conclusion

Popcorn is indeed a naturally gluten-free food loved by many, including those who have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

When purchasing outside, you should be cautious of the flavors being used and possible cross-contamination.

Therefore, making it yourself is an excellent way to ensure that your popcorn is gluten-free.