Does Starburst Have Gluten – All You Need to Know


Are you a candy lover who is curious about Starbursts’ gluten-free status?

Worry no more because the answer to the question” are starbursts gluten-free” is Yes! since gluten is not present in any USA starbursts.

But why do I only mention USA starbursts? Well, to find out, keep reading.

Is Starburst Gluten Free? USA Starburst

Is starburst gluten free? USA Starburst.jpg

If you live in the United States and want some gluten-free candies, you should consider Starburst candy (including seasonal candy) since they are all gluten-free.

These chewy, fruity treats are made without gluten in the USA and are never exposed to them while being made.

However, because the ingredients might differ from flavor to flavor and country to country, Starburst in other countries might only sometimes be guaranteed to be gluten-free.

For instance, Starbursts produced in Australia or New Zealand may contain wheat flour-based thickener or glucose syrup.

However, the ingredients in the original Starburst created in the US have no gluten. These listed ingredients are Corn Syrup, Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Artificial and Natural Flavors, Fruit Juice from Concentrate (Cherry, Orange, Strawberry, and Lemon), Food Starch-Modified, Citric Acid, Dextrin, Gelatin, Coloring (Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C).

Are Starburst Candies Gluten-Free Outside of the USA?

Are starburst candies gluten-free outside of the USA.jpg

The information offered on The Wrigley Company website is ambiguous.

We only validated that Starburst candies, including seasonal candy, are gluten-free if you reside in the United States.

However, suppose you are outside of the USA. In that case, you should be careful to check those labels because they might include wheat starch, making it harmful for anyone with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Are Starbursts Safe for Those with Celiac Disease?

Are Starbursts Safe for Those with Celiac Disease.jpg

Nearly all Starburst brands and flavors made in the USA are made using gluten-free ingredients.

So, if you live in the US, you can include them on your safe chews.

However, it’s advisable to read the label when purchasing Starbursts from other countries since some Starburst candies sold in other countries may contain gluten ingredients that are unsafe for persons with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

What Starbursts are Gluten-Free?

What Starbursts are gluten-free.jpg

Most Starburst brands and flavors produced in the USA has no gluten.

These are some of the flavors you might find and know are suitable for you to enjoy.

1) Chew

  • Starburst Original Fruit Chews
  • Starburst Fave Reds Fruit Chews
  • Starburst All Pink Chews
  • Starburst Duos Chews

2) Gummies

  • Starburst Sours Gummies
  • Starburst Original Gummies
  • Starburst Original Airs Gummies
  • Starburst Sour Tropical Airs Gummies

3) Gum

  • Starburst Original Gum
  •  Jellybeans
  • Starburst Original Easter Jellybeans

 4) Minis

  • Starburst Original Mini Fruit Chews
  • Starburst Fave Reds Mini Fruit Chews

 5) Swirlers

  • Starburst Swirlers Chewy Sticks

6) Frozen Treats

  • Starburst Strawberry Sorbet Bar


If you live in the United States, you can relax and add starburst to your list of gluten-free foods.

However, suppose you are traveling outside the country to places like Australia or New Zealand. In that case, you should take a moment to check the label before consuming the item or, better yet, avoid it altogether. You can read more of our articles on gluten-free foods below.