Clicky

Is Hard Cider Gluten-Free – All You Need to Know

Is hard cider gluten free
Last updated:

Since hard cider is made from apples, it is naturally gluten-free.

Apple juice or other fruit juices are fermented with sugar and yeast to create hard cider.

The yeast used in cider fermentation is typically naturally gluten-free, although it can occasionally contain gluten-containing grains when it is a byproduct of making beer.

However, as people with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance or other gluten-related illnesses, we must be cautious about what goes in our mouths because it may contain additional additives or flavorings.

Cross-contamination is also possible on shared equipment or during manufacturing because, most times, they don’t process these drinks in a dedicated gluten-free facility created to process gluten-free products.

Yes, most popular cider brands have indeed been verified to be gluten-free.

But there are a few exceptions, so be careful when selecting to avoid mixing alcoholic apple cider with non-gluten-free alcohol beers with apple flavorings, such as red apple ale or other beverages with similar names.

Remember that not all hard ciders are gluten-free since some brands use barley for flavor and enzymes.

Consequently, always read the labels thoroughly.

We’ll list a few of the hard cider brands suggested for those who have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Check them out by reading on.

1) California Cider Company (ACE Cider)

ACE cider

The company claims that all of its ACE ciders are gluten-free and suitable for customers with celiac disease.

Here are a few of their cider products that are considered gluten-free.

  • Apple
  • Blackjack 21
  • Joker
  • Perry
  • Pineapple
  • Pumpkin

a) ACE Apple cider gluten-free

California Cider Company made the first batch of ACE Apple in June 1994.

Light in color, made entirely of natural apples, with a mildly tart flavor and a crisp, dry finish.

Ace Cider is a gluten-free hard cider

This apple cider is medium-dry.

Like me, it is excellent for those who feel that most apple ciders are too sweet.

b) ACE Blackjack 21 Cider

Like a fine sparkling wine, ACE BlackJack 21 is distinctive.

Golden yellow is the color of the pour.

It is transparent and effervescent to a medium degree.

Apple aroma with a hint of barrel-aged Chardonnay is present.

Dry to semi-dry flavor dominates.

It has a good balance.

It has that nice weight to it and a medium mouthfeel.

c) ACE Joker

The California Cider Company’s new premium Ace Joker Cider, officially launched in 2008 and tastes like premium Champagne, is made (CCC).

It contains 8% alcohol content and is light in color.

It has no added sugar or fructose and is vegan and gluten-free.

d) ACE Perry

First made available in 1996, it gained popularity quickly because of how refreshing it is.

It is made from pears and apple juice.

It is all-natural, contains 5% alcohol by volume, and has a lovely pear aroma. It is also gluten-free.

e) ACE Pineapple

Ace’s Pineapple Cider is natural, crisp, and well-balanced.  It is made with fresh pineapple and no added sugars.

It has no artificial ingredients and fewer calories than others, and it is gluten-free.

f) ACE Pumpkin

Ace Pumpkin cider, which California Cider Company’s first production was in the fall of 2010, is a good one.

It has a distinctive orange hue and savory, rich flavor.

In addition, this pure and natural cider is made with real pumpkin and freshly pressed apples and is inherently gluten-free.

2) Angry Orchard Hard Cider

Angry Orchard Hard Cider

All Angry Orchard cider products are gluten-free because, in the company’s words, “Angry Orchard ciders are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients.”

Below are some of the orchid gluten-free cider products.

  • Crisp Apple
  • Rose
  • Pear
  • Green Apple
  • Easy Apple
  • Stone Dry

a) Crisp Apple

The Angry Orchard Crisp Apple tastes like biting into a fresh apple and has a distinct fresh apple aroma, a lovely amber presentation, and a bright, strongbow cider flavor.

The only minor flaw is that, despite being gluten-free, it is a little too sweet for my taste.

b) Rose

Fresh juice from uncommon French, red-fleshed apples, and hibiscus are combined to make the orchard rosé hard cider with rosé, berry, hibiscus, apple candy, and bubblegum-like aroma. It is tangy, sweet, and fruity.

This cider is sweet. Although it has been described as semi-dry, I find it sweet.

c) Pear

This hard cider, made from US-grown pears and apples, combines notes of crisp apple with ripe pear flavor for a gluten-free, well-balanced, smooth drink.

d) Green Apple

With hints of kiwi and honeydew melon, Angry Orchard Green Apple has a crisp, fresh apple aroma.

This cider tastes like a crisp green apple and has a balanced amount of sweetness and tartness.

e) Easy Apple

Angry Orchard Easy Apple hard cider is less sweet, energizing, and simple to consume.

It has an unfiltered, apple-forward flavor, a hazy appearance, a crisp, dry finish, and no gluten.

f) Stone Dry

The driest cider in the core lineup of Angry Orchard is Stone Dry.

The flavor and finish of this hard cider are juicy with a clean, slightly puckering apple finish.

It harmonizes the tannins of traditional cider with the acidity of culinary apples.

3) Magners Cider

magners cider.

The most traditional Irish cider is Magners. In 1935, it first began to brew.

“The original Irish cider” is what they advertise. They have three distinctive gluten-free ciders available, and they are:

  • Original
  • Pear
  • Berry

a) Magners Original apple Cider

William Magner first created Magners Original in 1935. It is a premium Irish cider made with the best mixture of 17 different apple varieties.

Magners is gluten-free and free of artificial flavors, colors, and sweeteners.

b) Magners Pear

Made entirely of premium pears, Magners Pear Cider is produced in Ireland.

The best pears are ripened, carefully chosen, slowly fermented, and cold-filtered to give the product a distinctive flavor and delicately refreshing texture.

The most OK part is that it is gluten-free and safe for your gluten free diet!

c) Magners Berry

Magners berry-flavored hard cider is regarded as gluten-free.

On a base of fermented pear, it combines strawberry, raspberry, and blackcurrant fruit notes.

It has a crisp, reviving flavor and is a sweet fruity cider.

4) Woodchuck Cider

Woodchuck Cider

Woodchuck cider has been produced in Middlebury, Vermont, since 1991.

They offer a good selection of ciders, from sweet to dry.

Below are some of the Woodchuck gluten-free cider products.

  • Amber
  • Granny Smith
  • Pear
  • Bubbly Pearsecco
  • Sangria
  • Bubbly Rosé
  • Raspberry
  • Semi-Dry

a) Amber

Strong and possessing a strong apple flavor, Woodchuck Hard Cider Amber is a hard cider.

They guarantee that none of our cider varieties have ever contained gluten. This cider comes in medium body and golden shapes.

b) Granny Smith

The mouthwatering Granny Smith apples cider has a tangy flavor and is tart with a hint of sweetness.

c) Pear

When you want a Woodchuck that is a little peculiar, Pear is the best choice.

This floral cider is light in color and brimming with notes of crisp, ripe pear that have been expertly balanced in small batches.

d) Bubbly Pearsecco

This dry pear cider, which is full of bubbles and has a clean, crisp finish, was inspired by sparkling wines.

Pearsecco is unmistakably similar to Prosecco wine with its high carbonation and sweet notes.

e) Sangria

It is a semi-sweet to semi-dry cider with hints of red wine, citrus, and berries, moderately made with minimal tartness and medium acidity.

Without any tannins, funk, bitterness, or sourness to give it a full-bodied Sangria-inspired flavor. Naturally gluten-free always.

f) Bubbly Rosé

A bubbly, fruit-forward blush cider with a smooth, crisp finish made with a variety of red apples.

g) Raspberry

Raspberry cider has a light, refreshing flavor and is well-balanced.

Delicate in body with a touch of extra zip, this hard cider elevates everything great about it with a finish of fresh, sweet raspberries.

h) Semi-Dry

The Semi-Dry is a refreshing cider without flavorings added.

It has a Medium-sized, well-balanced body.

It is a ripe apple fruit with light tanning, low to moderate acidity crisp, and revitalizing flavor.

Bittersweet apples are used in semi-dry cider to create a drink that is not overly sweet and makes you thirsty for more.

5) Ciderboys First Press Traditional Hard Cider

first press ciderboys

Ciderboys First Press Traditional Hard Cider is the best cider to drink if delicious red apples are your preferred apple.

This prestigious blend, which is sweet and apple-like, is unquestionably a good apple cider drink.

6) Stella Cidre

stella Cider

This simple-to-drink blend produces nothing less than stellar results thanks to a distinctive combination of three different apples.

It has a subtle fruity flavor that tastes more like champagne than beer and is sweet, clear, ecstatic, bubbly, and, best of all, it is gluten-free.

7) Harpoon Craft Cider

Harpoon Craft Cider.

Harpoon does indeed have cider! It’s also good.

Boston, Massachusetts-based Harpoon Brewery is best known for its beer.

Their cider is crisp, sweet, and flawlessly clear, and it is quite reviving.

Conclusion

Always remember and do not confuse apple-flavored beer with cider or some so-called gluten-free beer.