Clicky

Is Mead Gluten Free – Let us Find Out!

Is Mead Gluten Free
Last updated:

Mead is an alcoholic drink that resembles beer in appearance and thickness, but since mead is made of fermented honey and yeast rather than malts, you might not refer to it as a bear but as a sweet alcoholic beverage.

It is also known as “honey wine.” First, let’s find out if mead is gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free diet.

Is Mead Gluten Free

Grain yields like barley and wheat contain a type of protein called gluten.

It holds its shape by acting as a “glue.” Since it is a naturally occurring substance, a grain that naturally contains gluten cannot have the gluten stripped or separated.

Gluten can be downright fatal for some people, particularly those living with celiac disease, and it can also trigger extremely harmful autoimmune reactions.

Mead might be your best drink choice if you fall into one of these categories.

Mead is categorized as a beverage that doesn’t contain gluten because the main component of mead is honey, unlike other alcoholic drinks made with malts, barely, and grains.

Yes! Honey and water are combined to create mead, which is then fermented using yeast until the bacteria in the honey start to break down the sugars, leaving behind a delicious alcoholic beverage.

Bees use pollen from flowering plants to make honey. Honey is gluten-free on its own.

It is true mead is originally made gluten-free. However, some brewers supplement their beer with additional flavors, some of which might contain gluten.

Be sure to read the labels to determine whether the mead you’re purchasing is gluten-free because some brands add malted barley before fermentation.

Gluten-Free Mead Ingredients

mead gluten free

Mead is gluten-free when consumed in its traditional state, consisting of fermented honey, yeast, water, or juice.

Mead, made with ingredients such as malt, is the only mead type you should avoid. Gluten-free drinking shouldn’t be a hassle for those of us with celiac disease and who follow gluten-free diets.

That is why you can find gluten-free mead that suits your preferences, whether they are for dry, intricate, or sweet flavor palettes.

Mead Cross-Contamination Risk

If mead is made with wine yeast rather than brewer’s yeast and hasn’t been aged in a barrel that previously held beer, whiskey, or bourbon, it is safe to consume.

Sadly, only a tiny minority of mead breweries will meet these requirements. Therefore, you may still need to be mindful of the cross-contamination risk during this process.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in grain plants such as wheat, barley, rye, and triticale.

It is naturally occurring, which means it cannot be stripped or separated from grains that have it.

In addition, gluten is off-limits to those who suffer from conditions like celiac because it causes an immune reaction that harms the lining of their GI tract.

This reaction makes it difficult for the body to absorb nutrients from food, resulting in inflammation in the small intestine.

Does Mead Have Gluten Free Brands?

does mead have gluten free brands

 

Yes! Some brewers take a very cautious approach to the issue of how crucial it is for someone with celiac disease to follow a gluten-free diet and steer clear of it. These are a few of the brands:

  • Blisspoint Meadery
  • Charm City MeadWorks
  • Chaucer’s Meads
  • Ethereal Meads
  • Dansk Mjod Meads
  • Redstone Meadery
  • Beehaven Meads
  • Gosnells Meads

Conclusion

Before making your mead selection, you should read the labels to ensure the ingredients do not contain gluten.

Also, mead is an alcoholic beverage, just like any other.

If you intend to consume the beverage every day, it is advisable to moderate and limit your intake.

Drink responsibly and drink safely!!